PLN operates two hydropower plants and three 36.6 MW MHPs

Jakarta – PT PLN (Persero) has started operating two new hydropower plants and three new mini-hydropower plants with a total capacity of 36.6 megawatts (MW). The ceremonial Commercial Operation Date (COD) of the five renewable-based plants was held on the sidelines of The 11th Indo EBTKE Connex 2023 event recently.

According to PLN President Director Darmawan Prasodjo, the five plants are the 10 MW Krueng Isep Hydroelectric Power Plant Expansion in Aceh, the 6 MW Batu Gajah Hydroelectric Power Plant Expansion in North Sumatra, the 2 x 3.5 MW Sukarame MHP in Lampung, the 9 MW Anggoci MHP and the 4.6 MW Sisira Simandame MHP located in North Sumatra.

“We continue to build clean energy-based power plants, one of which is sourced from water. Moreover, Indonesia has abundant water resources,” Prasodjo said in a written statement.

Furthermore, he added, the government continues to encourage the utilisation of the diversity of existing new renewable energy (NRE) resources to supply electricity needs. One of them is water, which in some places has been used as a load-based power plant.

PLN continues to increase clean energy capacity to pursue the Net Zero Emission target in 2060. The growth of additional renewable energy-based generating capacity from year to year continues to grow. As of May 2023, PLN has operated water-based power plants with a total capacity of 5,651 MW. (Hartatik)

Banner photo: Rajamandala Hydropower Plant in Cianjur Regency, West Java, with a capacity of 47 MW, utilising the flow of the Citarum River from Saguling Hydropower Plant. (Source: PLN)

Like this article? share it

More Post

Receive the latest news

Subscribe To Our Weekly Newsletter

Get notified about new articles